An Added Obligation.

“21st Century Woman”, this very phrase conjures up in our minds the following picture. High profile corporate executive donned in a chic suit lugging around an attache` and most probably struggling to juggle housework and her profession.

It seems to me that the so-called modernity has dumped another obligation in our list of never ending ones than provide us with the much talked about freedom of choice that it is supposed to provide us with. Now-a-days, it is expected that almost every girl from our generation will grow up to be a working professional or a businesswoman. Girls whose aim in life is to be good mothers to their children and good wives to their husbands are looked down upon by the “working women” as some good-for-nothings who don’t have guts or an ambition to go out and actually do something with their lives.

I am not one of those conservative types who harbour the notion that there are set roles for males and females, rather, I am as liberal as one can be. It just seems to me that in this modern world things for women are no more different than they were back in old days when girls had no choice but to grow up to be housewives. Today, in addition to looking after our families we are even expected to earn by working.

I have more often than not sensed that well educated women tend to look down upon housewives who give up their whole lives to take care of their family. Why is it so hard for us to grasp the tiny fact that being a stay-at-home mom is just as hard or maybe harder than taking strategic decisions for a conglomerate. As Oprah always says, “Being a stay-at-home mom is the toughest job on earth”. Truer words were never spoken. It is a job of a chef, teacher, counsellor, marketeer, etc all rolled into one and do I even have to talk about job saticfaction here?

I say its about time we gave the stay-at-home moms of this world their due respect and give the girls freedom to choose what to do with their lives.

6 Responses to An Added Obligation.

  1. Irah says:

    I am all for this idea. About time people experimented. About time we heard of househusbands.
    I did Chemistry sometime in college. I remember a professor telling me to sit at home and take care of children. Though he meant to mock, I see light in those words.
    I see my mom toiling day and night to get us going. I never realised how much work she did until I was left home alone for more than a month- from keeping the house clean to cooking for myself. I haven’t told this to her yet.
    I think I’ll tell her tomorrow, it will make her birthday special!

  2. meena iyer says:

    Babes I completely agree! I am tired of so called feminist who think they have found liberation if they work like men!

    I have always opined that being a woman means doing “womanly” things in its best way and being proud of it.

    That doesnt mean we should/shouldnt be career woman. That juss means doing thins you want to irrespective of popular opinion!

  3. Harshad says:

    I just don’t understand why people hate middle ground so much. I mean, its a freedom of choice thing. Girls want gender equality right? Thats what all those feminists are out on the roads for, screaming their heads off. So let those who want to be housewives be housewives, those who want be working work. Its a matter of freedom of choice. If they look down at you let them. If you pity them would they care? They’re convinced that they’re better off than you are. Why can’t you have that same conviction? Let them pity you, who gives a shit?

  4. Infernal King says:

    absolutely….one should be let to do whatever one pleases…as long as it doesn’t affect another’s freedom.
    cheers!

  5. Infernal King says:

    also change the colour of this page if possible its kinda hard to read… [:P]

  6. Neeru says:

    whoa, tamm, u seem pretty “vehement” abt the whole thing! 🙂 well, woman R expected to fulfil SO many demands these days, they r expected to shoulder family burden AND work, but well, i would say i ll b REALLY proud if im able to juggle all that effectively. i mean, unless n until unreasonable demands r made of us by ppl who forget we r human beins too – wats the problem? i like workin, it gives me a feelin of independence. i like carin for my family, thats how i show my love for them. if ppl who dont care abt us make unreasonable demands on us, y should we care?!

    a good, poignant piece, lady. keep writin 🙂

Leave a Reply

