Stereotyped

I am a Sindhi from Ulhasnagar (The infamous USA of India).

The above sentence is enough for some people to classify me as some girl who has been living a secluded life in a really dirty town all her life and who cannot, try as she may, speak proper English without having a trace of Sindhi accent in every sentence she utters.

My college crowd was conspicuously divided between sindhis and non-sindhis. Sindhis were shunned by the “others” like we had some terminal contagious disease. We were ridiculed, made fun of our accent and of our ‘bling-affection’, when it came to clothes. Sindhis have always loved ‘bling’ in any and every form. I won’t deny the fact that the Sindhi girls in my were dressed everyday like they had just walked off an award function for soap operas. I won’t even deny that we never got around to properly pronounce some of the words in Hindi, which apparently caused a hell lot of pain to “the others” for some unkown reason.

I, however, was one of the few Sindhis who could penetrate in the world of “the others”, where we had to live in a constant vigil regarding our attire and accent, because any slip-up would cause us to be banned and publicily humiliated in “their world”. Some people were even dumbfounded when their question of what I like to do was answered with “reading” than “shopping” by me. They couldn’t, for the love of god , imagine a Sindhi with a book in his/her hand which was supposed to be read for pleasure and not out of academic obligation. We were always Sindhis and Non-Sindhis in my college, it was like a sole identity for every student there. It was like a silent war between the two halves of the college.

“The others”, however, weren’t as brutal as I have made them out to be. But some of the things that really irked me about them was that, they never missed an opportunity to hurl abuses at Sindhi people. Sindhis were like an outlet for their rage towards college. They ridiculed and criticised the college and the town. I was always left to wonder why would they come from so far to spend some of the memorable years of their lives at a place that they hate. Some of them came from places as far away as Mulund.

To my bemusement, never in my 5 years that I spent in my college, did I see any Sindhis ridiculing or criticising “the others”. They merely kept away from “them”. No Sindhi seemed to get too friendly with “the others”. Maybe they sensed the hostility oozing from them or maybe Sindhis were hostile towards “the others” too and I was too busy defending my clan to see the other side.

 

PS: The above post is not intended to hurt anyone’s feelings. All my friends are “the others”.         I love all my friends.

6 Responses to Stereotyped

  1. Harshad says:

    I never even realised what caste, creed, religion or community my friends were from. I wish everyone was as lucky. I dont know why, but many people mistake me for a christian or a muslim. After knowing me for a year or so. Stupid or just another stereotype?

  2. Neeru says:

    i donno y ppl should even KNOW who we r (other than our name) or where we r from. sheesh, scary! :O there r language barriers in all universities, but a lil bit of effort from both sides can easily bridge that. sad :/

  3. charu !! says:

    in a country like ours, religion or caste can never be ifnored, nor can their typical habbits and nuances… i used to think atleast educated people will not let their kids into the old war…. but just like “the others”, u proved me wrong.. 🙂

  4. Meena says:

    Damn!

    I have been in coll wid lotsa “sindhi” ppl. though most of them r clannish.. but i never felt any hostility towards or away from them.. sowwwie to say but i rilly couldnt relate to this … specifically..

    Although if u look at it generically.. yeah i agree.. there always seems to be such stupid divide..

    In my colony, there were around equal no of gujjus n marathis.. but the hostility between them was legendary.. once which came to blows!!

    The root cause was mistrust between both the community and nuffin rational abt it!

    Sheeesh!

  5. Shruthi says:

    Speaking of stereotyping, every community has some tag attached alongwith by the others. You’ve mentioned sindhis. But then if you go to see, some ‘others’ are made the butt of jokes, while many are ridiculed for their accent, and there may be some more…(I’m not specifying any names). That is how things are. If only everyone would’ve spared a thought on such issues and worked on it, the world surely will be a better place to live in. Sigh!

  6. Sampada says:

    Its a pity that while making a big deal about differences prevalent amongst countries, stereotypes and animosity within castes and religions are becoming more profound! Ironically, college is a place which is considered to be the melting pot for various cultures, religions, castes and races. But getting accounts of such antagonism between people of almost the same age and perhaps similar academic backgrounds is appalling! My sympathies here are, not with the “victims” but with the “tormentors” who need to step out of the cosy confines of their superficial air of superiority and acknowledge the fact that they too are “the outsiders” for someone who is less elitist and more egalitarian.

Leave a Reply

