Customer Service On My Fingertips.

One of HP’s sleek and chic notebooks found its way in my humble life just as 2007 was to have its farewell. As it happens with all the electronic devices that my dad buys me even this black beauty, as fragile as it is, had to be subjected to gruelling scrutiny by me.
I spent my next few days trying and certifying each and every feature that HP claimed my laptop had. All seemed to work just fine but for a few glitches that were sorted out like ironing the creases by the software engineer who came to install the OS (Windows Vista).
All seemed to work as smoothly as Germany’s train until I had this urge to take a screenshot of my desktop and brag about Windows Vista to my friend. After much peering into all the buttons I found the “Prt Sc” button on the top extreme right of the keypad. Now, as I was taught by a tech-savvy friend on how to use this feature (which I didn’t know till some months ago) I took following the same steps here… but as bad luck would have it, I didn’t seem to be able to copy paste the image on either Paint or Adobe Photoshop.
After several tries I started panicking and raging with fury and started hurling curses at HP at the speed of light for giving me a faulty keypad (or is it still called a keyboard with notebooks?) Finally, I turned to Windows’ trusty Help and Support that has helped and supported me in finding ways to solve Windows’ innumerable never-ending problems for countless years. I tried to find the solution desperately from Help and Support and for the first time ever, it failed me. At this point, I had lost all hope and I tried to convince my shattered self that I would have to live with a faulty keypad (keyboard?) for years to come.
And then, a tiny glimmer of hope appeared taking an angelic form of a hyperlink that said “Connect to chat with an online technician”. It felt like my mouse (yes, I got an optical tiny mouse for my laptop too) was moving on its own when I clicked on that link that lead me to HP’s official website.
To my surprise I did get to chat with a technician online, I don’t care if she was a Bot since she solved my problem. The conversation that followed was like this:

Melisa: Hello Tamanna.
Melisa: Welcome to HP Total Care for Presario Notebooks. My name is Melisa. How may I assist you today?
Tamanna Jaisinghani: hey melisa
Melisa: Looking forward to assist you.
Tamanna Jaisinghani: the thing with my laptop is that i can’t use the Print Screen button
Melisa: Do not worry; I will do my best to assist you.
Melisa: I will help you. Could you please provide me the detailed description of the issue?
Tamanna Jaisinghani: When I press the Print Screen button and then go to paint to paste it, i can’t seem to paste anything there
Tamanna Jaisinghani: well?
Melisa: Thank you for the information.
Tamanna Jaisinghani: What about the solution?
Melisa: Perform these steps to isolate the issue.
Tamanna Jaisinghani: ……
Melisa: Hold Fn key and press print screen to save the data.
Melisa: Perform these steps :
Melisa: We can use Print screen function to take snapshot of the desktop. Here are the instructions to take print screen:
Melisa: 1. Keep the image on the desktop to which you want to take a snapshot (print screen).

2. Press and hold down the Function (fn) key and tap on the Print screen key (prt sc).

3. Click start, Run, type MSPAINT and click on Ok. It will open MSPAINT window.

4. Press and hold down the Ctrl key and tap the ” V ” key to paste the print screen on the MSPAINT.
Melisa: Performing the above steps should resolve the issue.
Tamanna Jaisinghani: hey thanks a lot, it worked
Melisa: You are welcome.
Melisa: Are there any other questions that I can assist you with?
Tamanna Jaisinghani: No, this is it. Thank You so much.
Melisa: Its my pleasure assisting you.
Melisa: Thank you for contacting HP Total Care Real-Time chat support. If you need further assistance, please contact us again at: http://www.hp.com/support/chat. Chat support is available 24 hrs a day, 7 days a week.
Melisa: Have a fantastic day! Tamanna.
Melisa: Goodbye.

Needless to say this made me trust the company and the curses that I hurled flew out of my mind!

PS: This is the first time I had seen this online real-time problem solver by any company. So, I couldn’t help but write about it.

2 Responses to Customer Service On My Fingertips.

  1. Irah says:

    You are funny. I almost fell of the chair laughing when I read this part:

    Tamanna Jaisinghani: When I press the Print Screen button and then go to paint to paste it, i can’t seem to paste anything there
    Tamanna Jaisinghani: well?
    Melisa: Thank you for the information.
    Tamanna Jaisinghani: What about the solution? (ROFL…nice. You are actually bullying a Bot with a nice name!)

    And very surprising that one can actually find help online.

    P.S: The first sentence is a humble, creative way to brag! 😛

  2. meena says:

    Honey I am distressed!

    Your friend.. namely me B-) is a very good technical support.. u gotta root for them.. err me 😐

Leave a Reply

